Residential Rentals Registration – FAQs
What is registration?
All non-owner occupied residential rental properties of one or two units shall be registered with the Lawrence Township Municipal Clerk by providing pertinent information that could be referenced in emergency and non-emergency situations. The information would be available to both municipal officials and occupants. Such registration shall occur on an annual basis. Click here for registration form.
What if my property has more than two rental units?
Registration requirement under Lawrence Township Municipal Ordinance does not apply in your case. However, your property is a multiple dwelling as defined in section 3 of the "Hotel and Multiple Dwelling Law" (C. 55:13A-3) and by State Law (N.J.S.A. 46:8 -26 ET SEQ) you are already required to register as below:
- A landlord must go to the Bureau of Housing Inspection in the New Jersey Department of Community Affairs and register
- The New Jersey Department of Community Affairs will forward a copy of the filed statement to the Lawrence Township Municipal Clerk for the public records of the Township.
Why should a landlord register?
Registration is required under Lawrence Township Municipal Ordinance No. 1932-07. The purpose of the registration ordinance is to ensure that residential rental units are properly maintained, that landlords and tenants comply with the Township housing code, and that the lives and property of all Township residents are protected.
The Municipal Clerk will index and file the registration forms and make them available for public inspection. The Municipal Clerk will follow the mandates of N.J.S.A. 46:8-28.1 as amended and supplemented so that the filing of the registration form will simultaneously satisfy the registration requirements of N.J.S.A. 46:8-28, a state law requiring rental property registration, to the extent that it applies to the property being registered.
Should I register my property?
Yes, if you have one or two rental units. A rental unit means a dwelling unit which is available for lease or rental purposes.
How do I register?
By filling out the Application/Registration Certificate of Rental Unit form for each unit. Registration forms are to be filed in the Township Municipal Clerk’s Office along with applicable fees.
What information should I provide for registration?
Broadly, the required information will be about the rental unit, owner, lease agreement, floor plan, fuel oil dealer, emergency contact, etc. See registration form for all required information.
How will the information be used?
By the appropriate officials of Lawrence Township -- from the Offices of the Municipal Clerk, Fire Marshall, Police and Housing. It will be accessible to the public as public information.
How much is the registration fee?
$75.00 per unit for registration and $75 for Certificate of Inspection.
How long is my registration good for?
How do I renew my registration?
By filling out a registration renewal form from the Municipal Clerk’s Office. Annual renewals will be sent to the address on file one month in advance.
How is registration different from inspection?
Registration is filing information in the Municipal Clerk’s Office; inspection is an on-site inspection of property by licensed Lawrence Township Housing Inspectors.
What additional value do I get from registration?
Registration ensures compliance, enhances property value, maintains the condition of a rental unit and provides tenant safety.
Do I get a Certificate of Registration?
Yes, one for you and one to provide your tenant.
What if I do not register or renew my registration?
You may be subject to a fine of no less than one hundred dollars ($100.00), and no more than two thousand dollars ($2,000.00) or imprisonment for any term, not exceeding ninety (90) days, or a period of community service not exceeding ninety (90) days. This penalty is imposed by the Municipal Court.
Are there exceptions to registration requirements?
Yes. This ordinance does not apply to a residential dwelling if it is occupied by the owner or by a relative of the owner where no payment of rent is involved.
A written affidavit (form obtainable from the Clerk’s Office) claiming an exception per the above must be filed with the Clerk’s Office.
Is the registration fee tax deductible?
The registration fee may be a deductible business expense; please check with your tax advisor.