Town Seal links to Home Page

Shade Tree Advisory Committee


The Shade Tree Advisory Committee consists of seven members appointed by the Lawrence Township Council. All of the members serve as volunteers.

Our Mission

We advise Planning & Zoning Boards on applications for site plan and subdivisions regarding standards, types and planting specifications for shade trees. We recommend to Township Council programs of shade tree improvement, planting and replacement along public rights-of-way. The Shade Tree Advisory Committee has marked the Township's 19th year as a Tree City with a brochure highlighting the benefits derived from trees and the memorial tree program. See our latest brochure. For more information on how to care for trees see the attached.

We all need trees because of the many benefits. Most agree that trees have an aesthetic appeal and that they also provide shade, wood for construction and wood for fire places. However, in our busy lives we tend to take the many other advantages of trees for granted. Click here to read more information about "Trees - Who Needs Them".


  • Arbor Day Celebration
  • Memorial Tree Program
  • Tree City USA

Members & Liaisons

Current Members:

  • David Bosted (Through 12/31/20)
  • Edward Brzoza, Alternate #1 (Through 12/31/21)
  • Sheila Grant (Through 12/31/19)
  • Pam Mount (Through 12/31/21)
  • Edward S. Sproles (Through 12/31/20)
  • Vacancy (1)

Current Liaisons:

  • Councilman Michael S. Powers, Township Council Liaison
  • Jim Kownacki, Planning Board Liaison
  • TBD, Township Staff Liaison

Check Meeting Agendas and Minutes

Generally, the Committee meets on the 4th Monday of each month at 7:00 P.M. in the Community Development Conference Room in the Municipal Building.

Projects & Activities

The Shade Tree Adivsory Committee regularly participates in the Lawrence Township annual Community Day in October. The photo pictures the Shade Tree Advisory Committee’s past display with members drawing the winner’s name for a bonsai tree. Pictured left to right are Councilman Michael S. Powers, Shade Tree Advisory Committee member Carmine Di Sanzo, Committee member Janet Kane, and Committee member Edward S.Sproles.